Trip Report 1/7 - 1/15

[Archives Home] [Zihuatanejo Ixtapa Home] [Zihuatanejo Ixtapa Troncones Message Board]

Escrito por drgm desde 201.154.128.156 (dsl-201-154-128-156.prod-infinitum.com.mx) el día domingo, 15 de enero, 2006 a las 12:34:40 horas :

January 7 – 15, 2006

I’ve been using this board as a reference since about six months before our first trip to Zihuatanejo in January, 2005, so I felt like it was time to give something back and hopefully help another first-timer in the process.

FLIGHTS
We flew on Mexicana from LA to ZIH via Mexico City. We had a 35 minute connection in MEX and our flight left LAX about twenty minutes late so we were prepared to miss the connection. But we arrived on time, breezed through the airport and made our flight in plenty of time. Don’t be scared off by the very long customs line – those folks are not catching connecting flights.

The flight to ZIH arrived on time, but the airport was full!!! So we sat on the tarmac for about twenty minutes before we could taxi to the terminal. But everyone was in good spirits so the time went quickly. Of course, we got the red light at customs (for newcomers: to get through customs you press a button that randomly triggers a red or green light…you want the green) so it took another few minutes to get outside.

CAR vs CAB
Last year we took taxis and busses. This year my daughter and her fiancé came down a week before us so they could surf in Troncones and La Salditas. They had a reservation through Thrifty, but there was no car for them when they arrived. After much argument, Thrifty agreed to bring the car to them in Troncones the following day, but they still needed to take a taxi. I’m told that this is not uncommon, and that if you persist you might even get Thrifty to pay for your taxi fare. Buyer beware. It was great to have a car for trips to the market, to visit other towns, etc. But if you plan to stay in Z, the taxi service is sufficient.

ACCOMMODATIONS