Overdue trip report, may set a record for length, so be ready.

[Archives Home] [Zihuatanejo Ixtapa Home] [Zihuatanejo Ixtapa Troncones Message Board]

Escrito por Ket desde 70.41.76.165 (70-41-76-165.cust.wildblue.net) el día lunes, 08 de mayo, 2006 a las 10:37:45 horas :

Alrighty then… Though this was my 8th time to the wonderful land of Oz or Mexico, and our second time to Zihua. This is my first attempt at a report of this type…most of my trip reports are long orations over Coronas or Tequilas to friends and family or anyone else who will listen as I ramble on about how each trip was better than the last and about how if you haven’t been there…”Ya just don’t get it, man”. Anyway I digress...

Our journey began with a flight on Continental Airlines from Denver to Houston where Mother Nature rudely interrupted our trip by casting severe storms in and around the Houston area prior to our arrival. This little episode caused massive delays and several cancelled flights and connections. Though our connection to Zihuatanejo was not cancelled, only delayed about 2 hours, the experience provided a chance to dwell in a swirling mass of humanity and provided us with valuable insight of how two hours in a closet-like space with several angry and hot travelers can allow people to really show their good side. Luckily for us, there was a bar selling overpriced Coronas in the immediate vicinity and after knocking a couple back, my outlook on humanity improved drastically. Before we knew it, we were aboard a small jet and whisking down the runway, once again happy to be underway. After a short, overpriced Corona induced nap, we were on final into paradise, and my outlook was improving by the minute.