Trip Report

[Archives Home] [Zihuatanejo Ixtapa Mexico Home] [Zihuatanejo Ixtapa Troncones Message Board]

Posted by Hood Canal Gale from 198.81.26.108 (cache-ntc-ad07.proxy.aol.com) on sábado, noviembre 01, 2003 at 09:47:40 :

(My wife and I just got back from sixteen great days in Zihua/Ixtapa. Since I didn't journal the following is a condensed version of our trip. I hope it helps those trying to get the most out of a vacation there just as we did by reading this message board.)
I tried not to think too much about our trip as the days were winding down before our departure. I'm a busy contractor and had many details to arrange for jobs in progress. But as the "day" approached I couldn't hold back the anticipation and excitement of returning to Zihua after our six-hour teaser a year ago via Carnival cruise lines. This time, it would be for sixteen days.
My wife (D) and I went through the usual list of questions about where and how we would spend our time. I scoured this and other message boards comparing hotels, golf, places to eat, happy hours, and a host of other details. I was anxious to see in person the places I had read about. We finally decided to divide our time among three hotels. I wanted to play golf so we chose the Continental Plaza in Ixtapa for the first five days. They have reduced rates ($35 each) for greens fees and cart. We then planned to move to Villa Carolina in Zihua for seven days and finish our trip with four days at Villa del Sol.
Our flight from Seattle via Alaska was smooth and without incident. We managed to get exit row seating (we always ask)so had a comfortable and relaxing trip. D settled in to her first of several books and I began to devour the first of two golf magazines. After a couple of cups of coffee I had my first five dollar beer. Weren't they four dollars last time? Oh well, we're on vacation!