Muchos Gracias- I left my corazon in Zihua...

[Archives Home] [Zihuatanejo Ixtapa Home] [Zihuatanejo Ixtapa Troncones Message Board]

Escrito por La Niña desde 216.231.49.124 (dsl231-049-124.sea1.dsl.speakeasy.net) el día miércoles, 21 de abril, 2010 a las 22:07:52 horas :

This is a love letter to Zihua, and to this message board. We came to Zihua for our first time April 12-18. I spent days before the trip lurking on this site. Thank you ALL and especially Rob for this little window into your world. I learned so much in advance and yet found more on my own.

We live in Seattle and on Lummi Island in Washington state in the US. I am an author and illustrator of children's books. I speak some Spanish and a lot of French. Zihua was very understanding of every language I used. We stayed at Intrawest- on a trial basis. It was very nice, but we are still deciding if we will become members. The location is perfection to anyone who is interested... but we prefer the comidas Mexicanas and the authentic experience, too.

We slept through the earthquake. Maybe it was the 4am wake-up for our flight to Zihua that morning? Or the huge margarita in the pool. (way too expensive- we only did that once!)

We loved meeting Ben (Jamin) at Tequila Por Favor. Not only did we get the best tequilas and tastings, but he sent us to El Manglar, where we fell in love with the tiritas, the avocado stuffed with pulpo (octopus), Paco Taco- the cat we fed, the iguanas that our lovely waiter, Martin fed... and of course the crocodile that finally gave us a show the third time we went there.